Otago Rowing Championships

By Kirsty Dunhill | Posted: Monday December 10, 2018

Over the past weekend the OBHS rowers competed in the Otago Rowing Championships, held at Lake Ruataniwha in Twizel.

The team made 16 A finals and 3 B finals which was a strong effort considering they spent most of November off the water due to bad weather. The U18 boys performed extremely well, having 3 crews in the A final of the Boys Under 18 single final and 3 crews in the Under 18 Boys double final. The Under 16 boys are also on track with strong performances in both the Under 16 8 and Under 16 4.

We congratulate the following crews on their top 3 placings:

Club 2x 1st B Final - Teddy George and Hunter Walker
Boys U18 4X 1st A final - Ben Mason, Peter Rowe, Thomas Ryan, Henry Wilson, (Jake McLean cox)
Boys U18 1X 1st A final - Ben Mason
Boys U18 2X 2nd A final - Ben Mason, Jack Webber
Boys U16 8+ 2nd A final - Reuben Cook, Jono Burnside, Louie Sabonadiere, Will Haley, Freddie Pankhurst, Cody Campbell, Jacob Bolwell, Ben Burrow (Jake Burgess cox)
Boys U16 4+ 2nd A final - Reuben Cook, Jono Burnside, Louie Sabonadiere, Will Haley (Jake McLean cox)
Boys U18 2X 3rd A final - Teddy George, Henry Wilson

Also a special mention to the rower who the regatta officials deemed to be their "Rower of the Day" – well done Teddy George!

The boys have one more week of training before they head off for Christmas.  They will regroup in the middle of January to prepare for a selection camp which will determine who represents Otago Boys' at the 2019 Maadi Cup (National Secondary School Rowing Championships). 

Image Gallery