South Island Secondary Schools Chess Championships

By Peter Odgers | Posted: Wednesday September 6, 2017

The Otago Boys’ High A Team successfully defended their title at the championships which were held this week in Ashburton.

After losing three of the top players from last years team it was always going to be a tough task. The new team of Riley Jellyman, Max Lough , Ethan Lau and Ryan Lau not only won but did so in a comprehensive manner. Of the 28 games that each teach played our A Team only lost one game and drew one game, winning all of the others. The one game that was lost was to the OB’s B (Yr 9) Team! Riley became the first player at OB’s to win all of his games playing on the number one board which is a big achievement.

The B Team made up of Zishen Fu, Noah Oseki, Nicholas Wright and Luke Geddes gained a lot of experience and did well to finish forth, not bad for a team that did not actually qualify for the event but were given a wildcard entry!

Image Gallery