OSS Triathlon Championship

By Bevan Townsend | Posted: Thursday February 16, 2017

The 2017 Otago Secondary Schools Triathlon Champs were recently held in Cromwell.

As a school we had two entries in the senior boys' team event, Jack Divers and Tyler Summers in the senior individual race and Walter Savage, Elliott Alloo and Shea Darwen in the junior individual race. 

The Senior A team of Nicholas Pryde (Swim), Louis Harris (Cycle) and Nathan Hill (Run) led from the start winning the race comfortably. The B team of Jack McDowall (Swim), Ben Hogan (Cycle) and Charlie Marsh (Run) were narrowly beaten by Mt Aspiring for 2nd place. 

In the individual races the junior boys finished out of the medals. In the senior race Jack Divers competed strongly finishing 2nd to a top New Zealand ranked triathlete, with Tyler Summers finishing a credible 3rd. With both of these boys being Year 11 students they should look to dominate this race in the years to come,

Image Gallery