By OBHS | Posted: Thursday December 2, 2021

There are four Houses at OBHS, each named after a famous ‘Old Boy’.

Houses create a smaller environment for boys to grow and develop their identity. Houses compete in activities throughout the year and also gain points for attendance and academic results. 

Aspinall House (yellow)

John Aspinall was a farmer, conservationist and keen tramper, fisherman and hunter, who gave land to the government to help form Mt Aspiring National Park in 1963. Aspinall donated to OBHS the land for our school lodge - Mt Aspiring.

McIndoe House (red)

Sir Archibald McIndoe was a surgeon who worked in England for the Royal Air Force during WW2. He greatly improved the treatment and rehabilitation of badly burned aircrew, who became known as members of the ‘Guinea Pig Club’. He was a pioneer and leader in the field of plastic surgery.

Park House (blue)

Sir Keith Park was in the cadets at OBHS and went on to become a famous soldier and military aviator. In WW2 he became a Royal Air Force commander while living in England. He was in command of two significant air battles in WW2, helping the Allies to win the Battle of Britain and the Battle of Malta.

Saxton House (white)

Charles Saxton was a talented sportsman who was an All Black player and manager, rugby coach, NZRFU President, Otago representative cricket player, and New Zealand Army major in the 19th Armoured Regiment during WW2.

House Leaders

Each House has a designated House Leader.  House leaders oversee the running of House Assemblies and competitions with the support of the House Deans and Form Teachers.

Park House Leader
Mike McGarry
[email protected]

McIndoe House Leader
Elaine Kelly
[email protected]

Saxton House Leader
Steven Sharp
[email protected]

Aspinall House Leader
Gwyn Pratley
[email protected]