Aon Maadi Cup

By OBHS Rowing | Posted: Monday March 29, 2021

Every year in late March, the NZSSRA (NZ Secondary Schools Rowing Association) holds a National Championship Regatta for secondary school rowing crews known as Maadi.

This year the regatta was held from 22 - 27 March at Lake Karapiro in Cambridge. 

Otago Boys' had an outstanding regatta with 4 medals awarded on finals day. In addition to these medals our rowers competed in 6 A finals, 1 B final and 3 C finals.

The results were:

Gold - Boys Under 18 Quad (Trevor Coker Memorial Shield)
Reuben Cook, William Haley, Alex McLachlan, Grayson Small and Noah Lewis (cox)

Gold - Boys Under 17 Double (St Andrews Trophy)
Henry Kirk and Grayson Small

Silver - Boys Under 17 Pair
Henry Kirk and Grayson Small

Bronze - Boys Under 18 Double Sculls
Reuben Cook and William Haley

4th - A final Boys Under 15 Double Sculls
Ryan Egan and Archie Chittock

6th - A final Boys Under 17 Single Sculls
Henry Kirk

7th - A final Boys Under 15 Octuple Sculls
Niall Alexander, Archie Chittock, Ryan Egan, Charlie Tisdall, Harrison Thode, Tamati Dennison, Cameron McFarlane, Jed Tisdall and Rylan Nichol (cox)

At the conclusion of the regatta Reuben Cook was named as a NZ Junior Triallist and both Grayson Small and Henry Kirk received an Under 18 South Island trial.

Senior boys coach Kirsty Dunhill was named as the NZ Trans Tasman Woman's 8 coach which will race against Australia should a "bubble" open. Kirsty was also named as a South Island Under 18 team selector.

Our teams were well supported by a large group of parents/grandparents and family members. We were extremely thankful for their continued encouragement.

Many thanks to the coaches who have worked tirelessly to prepare the boys for the regatta: Jack McLachlan, Thomas Ryan, Ed Clarkson and Kirsty Dunhill. All the hours you have spent both on and off the water are greatly appreciated.

Image Gallery