Touch Update

By OBHS | Posted: Wednesday February 24, 2021

OBHS was well represented in the Otago representative teams that recently went to the New Zealand National age group champs in Auckland.

OBs had 5 representatives in the Under 18s:

  • Ashton Booth
  • Winston Ward
  • Will Challis
  • Hamish Moore, and
  • Hamish Faulks

They played really well throughout the three-day tournament and were the only team in the competition to get within 2 points of the unbeaten eventual winners, Te Tai Tokerau.

OBs also had representatives in the Otago Under 16s squad who finished 4th:

  • Brodie McDonald
  • Jake Fowler
  • Jackson Hughan

Jake Fowler has just been named in the New Zealand Under 16 squad.

Last weekend, the OBHS team played in the Otago Secondary School Champs held at the North Ground. It was a battle between OBHS and John McGlashan College for the title, and OBHS came out on top winning two of their three encounters with Johnnies. So OBHS are the Otago Secondary School Champs for 2021!!

The boys have been training hard for months, guided by their coach, Operations Manager at Otago Touch Association Jarrod Powell, and will represent us all again at the South Island Secondary Schools being held in Christchurch in a few weeks. 

Image Gallery